In The Meantime

While I put the finishing touches on one of my more sizeable pieces (look out for that next week), I figured I should drop a line and share some music that has pinged my radar over the last week.

Radiohead’s Creep has been covered a bunch of times and here is another one to add to the list. Adam O’Rourke, from Malibu metal outfit 2Cent leads the way on this new project being called a dubstep-punk hybrid bringing some enhanced live instrumentation to the world of EDM. Evolving out of O’Rourke and Brody Jenner’s DJ duo, More Better, AHZ (pronounced ‘Oz’), puts rock and EDM in the blender for this cover of a classic.

Big ups to one of my friends and early mentors, Djkemo, with his latest single featuring long-time collaborator Red1 (Rascalz) and the iconic Method Man (Wu-tang is for the children), on this latest single ‘I’m So Hot’ currently streaming on Spotify and Apple Music. This Vanguard producer gained international acclaim with his Kardinal and Akon Billboard #1, ‘Dangerous’, back in the 2000s and continues to remain prolific with recent production work in the world of Latin and Reggaeton music.

I first came across Kemo when I would see shows with his group The Rascalz. Later on, I was lucky to work with him in the lab of Hipposonic Studios where I was an assistant engineer. He gave me one of my first production lessons, talking in detail about the art of the chop and how to take a sample and cut it up to keep it in time. Years after that, we ended up doing some DJ shows together up in Whistler and in Vancouver and he continues to stoke the fire. Peep game.

Lastly, is a funky little pop jam courtesy of SZA and Justin Timberlake. I have a feeling this mid-tempo joint will be getting some heavy rotation over the coming months and might be timed perfectly to become the jam of the summer. This one should blaze up the charts all the way to the top.

JT James is a DJ, producer and writer based out of Vancouver, Canada.   A veteran of the DJ and recording worlds. he has produced several projects in the genres of hip hop and electronic music under various aliases such as James Divine, Track Nicholson and Sandy Villanova.  Be on the lookout for his upcoming single with underground hip hop legend Ras Kass and his electronic music collaboration with James Landau, in 2020.  

Facebook:    https://www.facebook.com/jtjamesmusic

Instagram:   https://www.instagram.com/mrjtjames/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/mrjtjames

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/johnnymcjohn 

Mixcloud: https://www.mixcloud.com/jt-james/loving-is-a-fearless-sound/

Leave a comment